Results 2008

2008 Championship

Championship played at Clacton-on-Sea Golf Club: Winner - Jenny Pease (Braintree); runner-up - Daisy Dyer (Chigwell); Flight 2 winner - Lizzie Taylor (West Essex); runner-up - Lucy Cutler (The Warley). Top Qualifier: Kelly Martin (Chelmsford).


Chigwell beat Rochford Hundred at Theydon Bois

Silver Shield and Silver Trophy

Chelmsford beat Hainault at Chigwell in the Shield and Chelmsford beat Upminster at Warley Park in the Trophy


Bronze Shield

The Essex beat Gosfield Lake at Upminster

Harris Bowl

The Essex beat The Warren at Lords of Rayleigh


Julia Woda from Chigwell

Ormesby Cooke Cup

Angela Heyday from The Warren


On Sunday 12th October Susan Hoyle and Hannah Dennis of Stapleford Abbotts defeated Sue Hilton and Sophie Buchan of Boyce Hill on the 17th Hole at the Warren Golf Club

Logan Trophy

Ashley Tyrrel of Lords of Rayleigh beat Paige Kemp of Boyce on the 18th Hole at Chelmsford to win the Logan Trophy

Other Winners

Girls Championship - Georgie Kilby (The Warren)

Girls U15 Championship - Siobhan Pamenter (Upminster)

London Foursomes - Trish Wilson/Fiona Smith (Chelmsford)

County Week: Played at Links Golf Club, Newmarket. The winners were Hertfordshire with Essex coming a very close second.

County Meetings - Spring

H.Cap            +  20                 Thorpe Hall Bowl                                  Louella Hitchcock (Chigwell)             

                     +  20                 Watmough Bowl                                   Rosie Heliwell (Colchester)

                    21-36                 Mayflower Cup                                     Angela Hayday (The Warren)                           

                    21-36                 McClure Bowl                                       Joyce Barber (Orsett)   

                 Seniors                 Joy Wooster Cup                                 Maureen Quinn (Chelmsford)        

County Meetings - Autumn

H.Cap           + 20                  Raphael Bowl                                        Barbara Watkins (Hainault Forest)                                   

                    + 20                  Barber Salver                                        Hilary Fomin (Thorpe Hall)

                  21-36                  Froom Cup                                            Georgina Penketh (Gosfield Lake)

                  21-36                  Romford Bowl                                       Sophie Ahmed (Benton Hall

              Seniors                    Ina Cameron Cup                                 Chris Noden (Boyce Hill) 

Junior Trophies

Frankie Hitchcock Salver (Jnr. Golfer of the Year)                         Daisy Dyer (Chigwell)

Boyce Cup (most improved)                                                         Gabriella Cowley (Blakes)

Joy Bridge Salver                                                                          Charlotte Thompson (Channels)  

Marjorie Wray Plate                                                                      Chelsea Bernadine (Colne Valley)                                    

Hunter Foursomes                                                                        Hannah Dennis and Susan Hoyle (Stapleford Abbotts)

Logan Trophy                                                                                Ashlee Tyrell (Lords of Rayleigh)

Management Committee
President                                                      Helen Morgan (Thorpe Hall)
Captain                                                         Janice Hazledine (R. Hundred)
Vice Capt                                                      Alex Goody (Canons Brook)
Hon. Sec.                                                      Diana Castle (Crondon Park)/Wendy Wilcock (R. Hundred)
Hon. Treasurer                                             Colleen Johnson (H. & Dovercourt)
2nd Team                                                     Brenda Skudder (Chelmsford)
Munro                                                           Sue Harris (Theydon Bois)
Silver Shield/Trophy                                      Eileen Croker ( & C. Valley)
Bronze Shield                                               Paula Higgins (Benton Hall)
Snrs./Silvers                                                 Joyce Currie (Rochford Hundred)
Bronze Mtgs/Harris Bowl                               Pat Kettle (5 Lakes)
Juniors                                                          Karen Charles (Colne Valley)
Training                                                        Sue Lines-Poulton (Th. Park)
Handicap Adviser                                          Janice Hazledine (R Hundred)
SS Assessor                                                  Pat Garner (Thorndon Park)
Regional Comm. Rep                                     Andrea Boyce (Boyce Hill)
Delegates                                                     Sue Woodhouse (North Weald) & Andrea Boyce (Boyce Hill)
LGU Chairman (by invitation)                        Trisha Wilson (