Results 2017

County Championship

Congratulations to Faye Trigg, 2017 Essex Ladies Champion. Faye (Clacton‐on‐Sea GC) began the first day of the Championship with a gross score of 164 after 36 holes strokeplay. She went on to successfully win through matches against Sophie Wheeler (Thorndon Park), and Paige Kemp (Boyce Hill) before playing Katy Yates (Clacton‐on‐Sea) in the final. Paige Kemp was top qualifier on the first day of the Championship with a gross score of 153.
2017 Essex Ladies County Champion FayeTrigg (Clacton‐on‐Sea), with Ashley Powell, Higgins Group PLC sponsors of the Essex Ladies Championship, and Katy Yates (Clacton‐on‐Sea) Championship Runner Up.

Seniors County Championship

Congratulations also to Maria Williams (Rochford Hundred) County Senior Champion. Maria won the Ladies Championship 30 years ago when it was also played at Colchester! She began the 2017 Championship with a gross score of 86 before successfully winning her matches against Toni Brockwell (Braintree), Nicola Iles (Crondon Park), and Jo Rumsey (Rochford Hundred) who had held the title for the last four years. Nicola Iles was top qualifer on the first day of the Championship with a gross score of 81.
Ashley Powell, Higgins Group PLC, sponsors of the Essex Ladies Championship, with Maria Williams
(Rochford Hundred) Essex Ladies Senior Champion 2017 and runner up Jo Rumsey(Rochford Hundred).


Silver Shield

On a slightly chilly and blustery day, the final of the Silver Shield was held at Crondon Park between Stock Brook Manor and Thorndon Park.  Several of the matches could have gone either way, but Stock Brook Manor came through to win 3/1 with the last match on the course called in as there was a result.  Congratulations to Stock Brook Manor, and commiserations to Thorndon Park, and thanks to Crondon Park for hosting the event.
2017 Silver Shield Winner
The Stock Brook Manor winning team of Holly Haslam, Lesley Harley, Helen Parker (captain), Ashley Croft, Jayne Stockwell and Rachel Higgins
2017 Silver Shield RunnerUp
The Thorndon Park runners-up of Sophie Wheeler, Ashley Chalmers, Emily Irons (captain), Sue Lines-Poulton and Bridget Cooper

Bronze Shield

The final of the Bronze Shield was played at Thorndon Park on 24th August in wonderful conditions. 

The Rayleigh Club won defeating Thorpe Hall.


Munro Foursomes

Munro Final was held at Stock Brook Manor Golf Club on Monday 11th September 2017

Clacton v Chelmsford 


Congratulations to Clacton Golf Club who won on the 36th hole.


2017 Munro Winner
Clacton Golf Club
Katy, Philippa Deman (County President) and Faye
2017 Munro RunnersUp
Chelmsford Golf Club
Kelly, Philippa Deman (County President) and Sue


Silver Trophy

The final was very tight, with Benton Hall up in 3 matches at the turn, and Chigwell in 2.  Benton Hall won the first match on the 20th hole, and the second match on the 18th, but Chigwell managed to turn around two of the last 3 matches to secure the win.  Thanks must go to Abridge for hosting the finals.

Congratulations to Chigwell GC for winning the 2017 Silver Trophy in a very hard-fought match against Benton Hall. 
Chigwell team, captain and caddies
Benton Hall team, captain and caddies

Harris Bowl

On a beautiful, sunny but breezy day the Harris Bowl Final took place at Maylands Golf Club between Burnham on Crouch and Crondon Park.

Two matches went fairly quickly to Crondon Park and then the excitement began with a win to Burnham on the 18th and the 2 remaining matches went down the 19th. Burnham won on the 20th  so now 2 all and then Crondon won the decider on the 19th hole., so Crondon won the trophy for the second year running.

The match was played in a great spirit and was a credit to both teams.
2017 Harris Bowl Final Winners
Crondon Park team winners:
Nicky Iles Capt, Gail McKemmie-Watson, Sue Ounan, Jo Lilliott, Jenny Hartnett
2017 HarrisBowl Final BurnhamOnCrouch
Burnham on Crouch team:
Debs Wolton Capt, Helen Todd, Jae Bray, Shelagh Edwards, Claire Brown


The Hunter Foursomes

The final of the Hunter Foursomes took place on Sunday 15th October at Benton Hall Golf Club against Sophie Wheeler and Sharon Bartlett of Thorndon Park and Holly Haslam and Jayne Stockwell of Stock Brook Manor. 

There was some stunning golf on display by all four players with the match being very close all the way. 

Congratulations to both pairs for reaching the final of this knock out and especially to Sophie and Sharon for winning on the 18th hole 1 up.

The Logan Trophy

The Logan Trophy was won by Charley Hatley of Colchester GC who beat Ysobel Lush on the 18th green 2up.

The Hitchcock Trophy

The Hitchcock Trophy was won by Erin Earl of Little Channels GC who beat Lauren Gowers 2&1 also from Little Channels.
^ L to R
Lauren, Erin, ELCGA President Philippa Deman, Charley & Ysobel


Windfall Trophy

Early October saw the Windfall finalists competing at Brentwood golf club. Despite the showers and the wind the 44 ladies who took part played well and enjoyed their day. The winner with 38 points was Jennine Pook  from Forrester Park golf club. With second place going to Brenda Tyler from Warley Park  golf club with 36 points.

From the left, runner up Brenda Tyler, County President Philippa Deman and the winner Jeannine Pook


Gold Silver and Bronze County Knockouts
The Gold Silver and Bronze County Knockouts were played on Sunday 8th October 2017 at Three Rivers on a lovely sunny autumnal day with some amazing golf being played the results are as follows: -
Gold Division - Holly Haslam (Stock Brook) beat Maria Williams (Rochford Hundred)
Silver Division - Tracey Rogers (Stock Brook) beat Clare Lewis (Burnham-on-Crouch) Bronze Division -  Tess Prudence (Stock Brook) beat Cherry Clarke (Stock Brook)  Well done to you all for getting to the final.


Claire Lewis (Burnham-on-Crouch), Tracey Rogers (SBM), Holly Haslam (SBM), Jayne Stockwell (Organiser), Tess Prudence (SBM), Maria Williams (Rochford) Cherry Clarke (SBM)

Second Team
Essex 2nd Team Finals Day at Brampton Park GC August 2017

Overall Match Results

V Bedfordshire 7.5 – 4.5 WIN
V Norfolk 7.5 – 4.5 WIN
V Cambs & Hunts 8 – 4 WIN
2017SecondTeamFinal<  Winning Team

Pictured Standing (Left to Right)
Charley Hatley, Monika Solanki, Kate Gadsby, Rachel Casey, Liz Gibson (Captain), Sophie Wheeler, Philippa Deman (President), Teresa Kennedy
Front (Left to Right)
Amanda Colgate-Herbert, Amanda Hartman